Quick and Easy DIY Baby Leg Warmers

 

We love Baby Legs at our house. They are a perfect extra layer for my little guys during the brutal Ithaca winters. They are wonderful “knee pads” for my little scooter. And they are just plain cute. We have several pairs that rotate between the boys, but I wanted to find a way to make them myself so I could add some cute holiday fun without spending tons of money on something they can only wear for a month or two. So I was super excited to come across this idea and decided to give it a try. I think they came out really well and will make a great Halloween treat for the little ones in my life.

Start with a pair of cute socks. The ones shown here are knee socks. They make nice long legwarmers for older toddlers. Babies will do better with regular ankle socks.

Cut just above the heel, so you have a long tube.

Next cut the toe and heel off of the foot of the sock.

You should now have four pieces.

Fold the foot of the sock in half. This will be your cuff.

Pin the cuff to the leg of the sock, making sure to have the patterns facing the correct way and sew in a straight stitch, pulling gently as you go so you leave a little room to stretch.

At this point, I like to reinforce with a zig zag stitch so nothing frays. This is optional.

Repeat with the other sock and TADA! Cute baby leg warmers to add a little flare to your baby’s wardrobe!

 

One response to this post.

  1. these are so easy and a creative way to keep little legs warm.
    the options are endless

    Reply

Leave a comment